Write Inspiration: Dreams

14358425930_412770d629_z
(Photo credit to: Angela Marie Henriette, on Flickr)

Every story I’ve ever written started from a dream or at the very least a daydream.

When I was small, before I could read or write, I would sing tales as I spun them in my head. When I grew older those sung tales grew into real ones and I fell in love with storytelling.

Dreams are mysterious and hold meaning to our lives; often inspired by experiences of our day or week; thus they can be excellent fodder for the growth of a new story.

If you meld a dream and iron out the wrinkles and self-inserts; you can have a good novel on your hands.

Many an author I’ve spoken to keeps an account of their dreams, because they hold quite a bit of inspiration.

They can also can help solve plot holes in current novels.

Many a night I have gone to sleep thinking over and over about the last chapter of my story and when I woke up somehow I had a new idea to spark the next chapter.

Have your dreams inspired you to write? Have they ever solved a plot hole for you?

For more daily prompts, check out The Daily Post on wordpress.

One thought on “Write Inspiration: Dreams

  1. Pingback: #BeReal – DAVID ELLIS | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

