Special Post: “Prisoner of Glass”Review

prisonglassswoonreal
“Prisoner of Glass”, by: Tempest C. Avery

 

Summary from Goodreads.com: “If anyone had ever asked Delaney Grace what her plans were after high school, she certainly wouldn’t have answered, “getting kidnapped”. Unfortunately, that’s exactly what happens. As if that wasn’t enough, turns out the man kidnapping her isn’t a local. He’s from another planet. In a twisted case of mistaken identity, Delaney is taken to a foreign world where she’s forced to pretend to be an alien princess. If she can pull it off long enough for the real princess to be found, she’ll get to go home, if she doesn’t, she risks enslaving the entire human race. Tricking the princess’s betrothed, Trystan, isn’t going to be easy, but not falling for Ruckus, her accidental kidnapper, might be an even bigger feat. Especially when the three of them get caught up in a deadly game of truth or dare. Will Delaney be able to pull off the acting job of a lifetime, or will she ultimately be the cause of a massive war? One the human race most likely won’t survive.”

I had the privilege of getting to read this book for free via paperbackreviewer.com.

The “Prisoner of Glass” had the quite the effect on me. I find in our busy lives it can be hard to get pulled into the different worlds within books sometimes. At least that’s how it’s been for me of late. But this book reawakened the bookworm in me, it pulled me in and didn’t let me go until the end when I was left gaping at the last sentence.

I wrote two separate reviews for the book. I didn’t know which to pick, so I decided on both.

  1. The Straight to the Point Review: The beginning of “The Prisoner of Glass” felt like it lagged a bit. The introduction of the MC and her best friend seemed to be drag on for a bit before the inciting incident of the story occurred.
    At the inciting incident, the kidnapping, I had moments where all I could think about was why the MC was not screaming and fighting harder to get away instead of staring at the unabashed beauty of her kidnapper. Once on the ship the MC’s character seemed to awaken and along with her so did I as the reader. Soon I was hooked and I finished the book in less than two days.
    Thinking back on the overall book, I think what struck me most was the author’s ability to hint at a well-known cliche, but then turn it completely around.
    At first, the fact that pretty much all the characters were gorgeous really bugged me; but Tempest did a great job of creating good characters behind those distracting facades.
    They all had depth, which any reader can greatly appreciate.
    Despite a couple of grammatical errors here and there the book was a really good read. I can’t wait for the sequel.
  2. A Fan’s Review: The book creates a high.
    If I posted a review the night, or rather morning, when I finished it I would have ended up sounding like a rambling fan girl.
    It had so many of the moments that I love in books.
    Moments where I shout, “What the heck are you doing?”
    And other moments when my cheeks would redden in embarrassment when I could see myself mirrored in the character’s actions.
    “Seriously you couldn’t wait ten more minutes to do that.”
    I would chastise when they would take an ill moment for an intimate moment,
    “Anyone can see you!”
    But that’s how the author gets you,
    She gets you to care and before you know it, you want the end but dread it,
    For you know the end won’t sate you…
    No you will just more.
    At least that is how it was for me.

In the end, the final review comes down to this.
” Did I enjoy it?” Or “Did I NOT enjoy it?”

This book ticked off the first box for me and I can’t wait for the sequel.

For I must know what happens next.

Thank you Tempest C. Avery for giving me the opportunity to read and review your book!

Leave a Reply

