The Triple 7 Snippet Challenge

Hello all! Today we are are going to do something a little bit different.

Today I am going to do the “7/7/7 Snippet Challenge” introduced to me by Sara General.

The challenge goes as follows:

  • Go to the 7th page of your WIP.
  • Scroll down 7 lines.
  • Share the next 7 lines.
  • Then challenge 7 other writers.
I thought it would be a fun little challenge to do. I also thought it would be nice to share a little bit of my writing worlds.

I will be doing the challenge for both “A Victorian Tale” (my WIP in editing) and my current WIP “The Land of Fear”. They are two vastly different novels and thus I think it would be interesting to share both.

(Photo credit to: Emmanuel Huybrechts, on Flickr)

 

So, first up is “A Victorian Tale”. The best summary I’ve written for it was in a #SFFpit:

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

This snippet occurs during an encounter that changes my protagonist, Calliope’s whole perspective and ultimately her whole life.
“Do you injure yourself often?”
 
“Not as badly as this time, but often enough that it’s good to have medical supplies on hand. I suppose it’s one of the curses of being an inventor.”
 
Calliope nodded at his comment, her father’s hobby of carpentry had similar affects. Her mother would always end up scolding him for the garish bruises and cuts that happened as he constructed another “masterpiece.”
 
“Done.” When she turned back to the inventor he had put his damp shirt back on. “Now your turn.”
 

 

(Photo credit to: HORIZON, on Flickr)

My other WIP, “The Land of Fear”, is set on a planet where all the major emotions and attributes are represented by various kingdoms. It has several POVs all who are vital to the plot. The snippet is from one of the protagonists’, Diedre; she had to face a tragic event that spurred her into action. 

 
It was to be their decision. I had offered them a second chance.
It wasn’t just a second chance for them.

I needed it.
I need them.
Without them I could lose my home.
Without them I could lose my life.
So I hope you enjoyed the little peeks into the worlds I have created.
Next I tag:
  1. Lina Forrester
  2. Kelli Crockett
  3. Kate Halena
  4. Mattias Ahlvin
  5. Sarah Wright
  6. Klara Kim
  7. Brianna de Silva

 

If you do this challenge as well, feel free to send me the link to your post, I’d love to read it.
 
 
 
2 thoughts on “The Triple 7 Snippet Challenge

Leave a Reply

